Go to main navigation
192 Nassau Street, Princeton, New Jersey 08542
Free Consultation (609) 917-9370 (609) 917-9370

Penalties for Reckless Driving in New Jersey

The penalties for reckless driving in New Jersey are harsh. The statute states that a person can be convicted of reckless driving if he or she “drives a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or likely to endanger a person or property.”

Penalties for Reckless Driving in New Jersey

Drivers without an attorney have been pleading guilty to reckless driving in New Jersey for many years. Fines of between $50 and $200 might seem inconsequential. Up to 60 days in jail for a first conviction is what might get a guilty driver’s attention. A second charge can result in a three-month jail sentence and a fine of between $100 and $500.

Points and Insurance

Don’t forget about points against your license either. Fines increase with the number of points assessed, and if you accumulate 12 points at any given time, you’re going suffer a suspension. Then, consider the hidden penalties for reckless driving after you learn about the insurance premiums that you’ll be paying over the next few years. You’ll be determined to be a high-risk driver. Make sure that you’re sitting down when you get your next premium notice. The annual increase will be far more than a $500 fine for a second offense.

Lesser Offenses

There are alternatives to pleading guilty to a reckless driving charge that carries consequences that aren’t as harsh as the penalties for reckless driving. One of those lesser offenses is careless driving. A maximum jail sentence for careless driving is far less severe than one for reckless driving, and the fines for a careless driving conviction are far less severe too. Also available as a lesser offense is unsafe driving, which carries zero points. Keep the fact in mind that a careless driving conviction is only going to carry two points against your driver’s license.

You don’t want to suffer the penalties for reckless driving when lesser penalties or even a not guilty verdict are possible options. You’ll want help contesting any reckless driving charge against you. Contact our office online or by calling 609-921-0090 to schedule a free consultation right away.